Friday, February 23, 2018

seriously romantic: lady gone wicked by elizabeth bright

lady gone wicked picks up the story of adelaide and nicholas, the two missing twins from twice as wicked. because they were kind of antagonists in the first novel, it's hard to switch gears and see them as protagonists in this second one. especially given the resentment between nate and nick. if this had been less fraught, perhaps switching gears and perspectives would have been more easily accomplished.

nick has every right to hold his grudges. and he's done a lot of terrible things. none, so terrible as abandoning adelaide. especially not realizing how she needed him. and now he's ready to step up and do the right thing. but she doesn't want that from him. or she does, but only as a last resort. 

she doesn't want to entrap him. she doesn't want to be with someone who doesn't love her. except he does. this is what she fails to see, he loves her so deeply and so much that every time she says he doesn't need to marry her she cuts away another piece of his soul. he doesn't have that much left to spare. 

once they get past this misunderstanding. and all the lies and misunderstandings that came before. well, that's the only way things will work out. and it's good to see that their family relations also get a measure of resolution. bygones do become bygones. apologies are made. forgiveness is granted. 

it's less easy. but the happy ending is there all the same.

**lady gone wicked will publish on february 26, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (scandalous) in exchange for my honest review.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

seriously romantic: the curse by harper a. brooks

the curse ensures that every wolf who has not found their soulmate by their twenty-fifth blue moon dies. both astrid and erec are approaching the time their curse is up, and neither has found their soulmate yet.

except now that they've met. there's this pull. this attraction that keeps them coming together for more. but is it love? what is love? and how is a rogue wolf ever going to be worthy of an alpha's daughter? the heart wants what the heart wants, even if you are a werewolf.

and given that astrid's pack is currently being hunted down by a power-hungry alpha, they have a lot to worry about. finding love is about life or death for them. that it's not immediately identifiable makes it feel less real, less true. but sometimes your heart knows things before your mind recognizes them as true. and the fun of this book is reading astrid and erec come to terms with what they're feeling.

**the curse will publish on february 26, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (amara) in exchange for my honest review. 

something from the archives: stranded - part 6

and this one comes to a close here...


Wednesday, February 21, 2018

seriously romantic: a duke in the night by kelly bowen

so here's the thing, i liked august and clara's story in a duke in the night. from the start, i liked their chemistry. i liked how clearly they both yearned for each other and how they were both afraid to take a leap.

but so much of their romance is spent talking about august's sister anne. and like it's a good topic, she wants to be a more productive member of society than women are generally allowed to be in the regency period. and august is fairly progressive, he's just crazy protective about his sister. but it makes sense because they had a really rough childhood and he wants to provide for her. he wants to give her a sparkling future because her past is full of dirt and grime.

and maybe part of the problem is that august is made out to be in the wrong, but he's also such a good character it's really painful to see him in the wrong. and maybe it's because it goes against the grain to want the feminists in the room to just let the man be. he really does care. he's actually a really good man. and so all these feelings are uncomfortable, and i tried to skin through all the stuff with his sister, to get to the good moments.

of which there are plenty, clara and august continually find themselves alone together. it's really the novel's saving grace. these two and their chemistry.

**a duke in the night published on february 20, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever) in exchange for my honest review. 

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

seriously romantic: rock king by tara leigh

kicking off her nothing but trouble series, rock king introduces us to shane hawthorne, lead singer and guitarist for the highly successful band. he's got some addiction issues. and some guilt issues. and when he meets and connects with delaney fraser he's drawn to her the way he hasn't been drawn to anyone for a long time.

so he hires her to be his fake girlfriend. but then he finds that with her, he wants things to be real. and so he opens himself up to all the grief and trauma of his past. and delaney understands it all because she also has the same guilt issues. and she's also got some trust issues. and some self-esteem issues. because she doesn't believe that shane loves her the way she is in love with him. and part of her believes that she doesn't deserve his love.

these two couldn't be more on the same page if they tried. so they just need to get over themselves, and believe that no matter what happened in their past, they are still entitled to live their lives and find something happy. this was angsty and swoony and a quick read. the pov switches here happened within chapters, and this kept the pace heightened, i think.

**rock king will publish on february 20, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever yours) in exchange for my honest review.

seriously romantic: playing to win by laura carter

in playing to win, brooks adams has a complicated past. his girlfriend's teenage pregnancy gifted him with the most incredible baby girl and the biggest heartbreak of his life. he's carried a torch for alice since then. even though time and life has changed him. has changed her. in the present, he's a successful fitness trainer who runs his own gym.

when he encounters izzy coulthard, the author of a book promoting a new fitness and health regime he's repelled by her attitude and attracted by her looks. mostly he's drawn to the fact that when he's around her, he feels something. he's been walking in a fog of heartbreak for 18 years, and so feeling challenged and angry and lustful is new. he can't get enough of it. even as she infuriates him at every turn.

they spend a lot of time behaving like children. and izzy especially needs to grow up and learn when to admit that she is wrong. because a lot of the time she was being completely unreasonable and it was hard to see that there was another side.

but both brooks and izzy do some growing up. they let go of some of the baggage they've carried around for far too long. and they find that being together feels right.

**playing to win will publish on february 20, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/kensington books (lyrical caress) in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, February 19, 2018

simply all about the scorched releases


i had a chance to read the books entangled's scorched line is releasing this week. here's a little extra information on them. 

simply all about the latest embrace releases

i covered the three books embrace is releasing today, and i have some additional information on them, including where to buy.



Sunday, February 18, 2018

seriously romantic: approaching the bench by chantal fernando

the latest entry in the conflict of interest series is approaching the bench. law intern, callum starts a clerkship with hardass judge trinity williams. and it's pretty explosive.

this novella was delightful. callum is an easygoing guy, and his relentless good cheer in the face of trinity's standoffishness really works. he wears down her walls in ways that are oh so charming. when he saves her from an abduction attempt, they end up having to go into protective custody.

if you are enjoying this series, then this is another great entry and you should definitely read it. it stands alone too, so even if you have read the series, you'll enjoy this.

**approaching the bench will publish on february 19, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/gallery, threshold, pocket books (pocket star) in exchange for my honest review. 

Saturday, February 17, 2018

seriously romantic: the test by tawna fenske

when lisa michaels decides that she should stop trusting her instincts and do the opposite of what she would normally, she somehow ends up tangled up with dax kensington, a super succesful steelworker who grew up on the wrong side of the tracks and his lisa's total opposite. 

from the moment they meet, sparks fly. and they have all sorts of crazy sex in all sorts of crazy places and its super sexy and fun. i loved it. it's not all smooth sailing, they both fail to confess their real feelings and when an uncomfortable social situation makes dax feel inadequate he lashes out. 

once they figure out their real issues, they find a way to be together in spite of their differences. 

**the test will publish on february 19, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (scorched) in exchange for my honest review. 

seriously romantic: his for the week by alice gaines

when sex columnist désirée knight is invited to review an erotic resort in his for the week she decides it's time to ask the hot guy she's been eyeing at the coffee shop. the problem is that rae feels like she needs to put on a persona to embody the sexy and bold désirée.

nate winslow knows that désirée is the quiet, unassuming woman he's been watching at the coffee shop for weeks now. so when she propositions him, he doesn't hesitate to go for it. especially since he's been dying to ask her out.

being together at the sex resort has them breaking down barriers and succumbing to sexual attraction quickly. but as they reach new levels of intimacy, both nate and rae realize that they want something more than a no-strings week. this was a steamy, enjoyable read.

**his for the week will publish on february 19, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (scorched) in exchange for my honest review.