Thursday, March 21, 2019

seriously romantic: a lesson in thorns by sierra simone


it's so dark, and thorny, and atmospheric. and there's all the emotions and feelings brimming just beneath the surface. seeping out into everything. it's the story of six children. and their reunion twelve years after everything changed. six adults who think they know who they are. but when they come back to thorncombe, to the ruins of thornchapel, everything changes once again.

it's discovery. and pain. and it's kinky. and seductive.

a lesson in thorns kicks of the thornchapel series. and every character matters. they have damage and baggage and all these feelings they don't know how to contain. and it's just so wickedly dreamy. the kind of story you have ideas will take you somewhere, but then it goes deeper and harder and you're left feeling raw and wrung out and hungover in the best possible way.

if you liked her new camelot series or the priest series, this feels almost like an amalgam of the two. and it really works. i can't wait to see what happens next.

**a lesson in thorns will publish on march 21, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of candi kane pr in exchange for my honest review. please keep reading for more information on the book and series. 


Tuesday, March 19, 2019

seriously romantic: play to win by kelly jamieson

play to win kicks of kelly jamieson's latest hockey series. if you were worried about missing the aces hockey series, the good news is that the wynn hockey series looks like it's a winner. 

i mean i read book one, it totally is a winner. you’ve got some crazy family dynamics, hot hockey players, and some take-no-prisoner women. it’s just absolute perfection. 

théo and lacey’s story is impulsive and fun and what works so well is the connection and caring these two characters have for each other from the moment they meet. it’s so easy to fall in love with them and i’m so excited to see where this series and this family goes. 

it’s another win, seriously. (not a pun, i swear.)

**play to win will publish on march 19, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/random house publishing group (loveswept) in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, March 18, 2019

seriously romantic: fearless and falling by season vining

i read the first book in this series and really liked it, so i figured i'd read book two, fearless and falling. and it was perfectly fine. it's just that the set up for this book is that the main character, angela louise has been in love with the hero, logan sawyer forever. and then he gets blackmailed into paying attention to her in order to solve her father's possible murder. and like, that's all fine.

it's just that the level of pining that angela has for logan is extreme. like in a weird she flies off the handle and tries to hook up with her ex in order to not feel bad about herself because logan's ex just came back into town. that whole moment, is like, crazy. stable people don't react that way.

and maybe that's just it. angela isn't stable. and logan does actually fall for her once he starts to get to really know her. and, of course, the blackmail held over his head is going to play into everything. but i don't know. i just didn't connect with these characters, which is a bummer. because i really loved wren and preston from the first book.

**fearless and falling will publish on march 18, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (embrace) in exchange for my honest opinion. 

Friday, March 15, 2019

seriously romantic: the story of us by jody holford

this is totally a me thing, and i know it doesn't bother others, and i know that this stuff really happens and life is messy and there are many ways to love. but

(and this is probably a spoiler, sorry skip the italic if you don't want to know)

stories that have main characters pregnant with not the hero's baby aren't my particular jam.

(end spoiler)

and as soon as i realized this was the secret that sophia was keeping in the story of us i had a super hard time staying with this. and i swear it's something i wish i could just get over. i don't know why it just doesn't do it for me.

there is so much to like here. declan is like a perfect dreamboat, and he has been one throughout the series. so, of course, he would love sophia and her secret. he's that kind of guy. and while i didn't fully understand where sophia was coming from at times, it's true that her family dynamics were complicated and fed into a lot of her issues. these characters are fully realized and i did like them together a lot. i just...in the end, it's more that this type of story isn't for me. and usually if i'm aware of it from the get-go i don't request them. but because it was supposed to be a twist, it's not immediately obvious, so i'm sorry about that. i usually love this author, it's just this particular story didn't work for me for #reasons.

**the story of us will publish on march 18, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (amara) in exchange for my honest review.

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

simply all about a lesson in thorns by sierra simone - a cover reveal


sierra simone kicks off a new series, and i've got the pretty sexy cover to share with you. check it out after the jump...

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

seriously romantic: heart of the devil by meghan march (audiobook version narrated by joe arden and erin mallon)


the forge trilogy concludes with heart of the devil and joe arden and erin mallon continue to bring it as jericho forge and indy baptiste. their voices were made to bring this story to life.

as forge, joe arden is dark, broody and strong. while erin captures indy's fierceness and the hint of funny that makes her irresistibly likeable.

this series is perfect for a binge listen, and you will never get tired of hearing these narrators. i certainly don't. and this wild ride that began with deal of the devil reaches a satisfying conclusion in this last installment. and i, for one, hope to see these characters make appearances in future books. i really feel like mount and forge should meet sometime.

**heart of the devil will publish on march 12, 2019. i received an advance listener copy courtesy of meghan march in exchange for my honest review. keep reading for some additional book info...


seriously romantic: heart of the devil by meghan march

the love story between jericho forge and india baptiste reaches an action-packed conclusion, full of twists and turns and reveals that knock you sideways. heart of the devil has it all: adventure, romance, betrayals and surprises. this story once again takes you for one heck of a ride.

one of the things that meghan march does so well is create these strong, dominant alpha heroes who have these warm, squishy hearts. and when they lose their hearts to someone, it's not some damsel in distress who needs saving, it's women who are strong and confident, women who aren't going to cower and let some man just swoop in and take control off their lives. not to say that the men don't try to take control, but the beauty of the journey is watching them learn how to cede their power and share it, and how they learn that this makes them even more powerful. because as a team, they are unstoppable.

indy and jericho's journey is super fulfilling and enjoyable. this series is definitely going on the re-read pile.

**heart of the devil will publish on march 12, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of meghan march in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, March 11, 2019

simply all about promise me by samanthe beck and robin bielman - a cover reveal


i'm so excited for this forthcoming release from robin bielman and samanthe beck. love their books and this should be twice as awesome because they're co-writing it.

after the jump check out the beautiful cover...


Monday, March 4, 2019

strictly literary: end of the lie by diana rodriguez wallach

the anastasia phoenix series comes to a close with end of the lie. and while the events of the previous novel seemingly left everything exposed and out in the open, there are still plenty of twists and turns that come our way.

the action is fast-paced and intense, and the plot twists and reveals work hard to keep us on the edge of our seats. we travel once again across europe in search of answers, and i loved seeing the sights between poland and prague.

these kind of suspense stories work best if you read them with no spoilers, so i will not dwell on plot. but all in all, this is a satisfying conclusion to the series.

**end of the lie will publish on march 4, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (entangled teen) in exchange for my honest review. 

Friday, March 1, 2019

strictly literary: the time traveler's guide to modern romance by madeline j. reynolds

when elias caldwell appears out of thin air at tyler forrester's prep school library, the explanation for how he got there is completely unbelievable. but tyler saw it happen. and elias is clearly a guy from another time period. 

and i think that's what makes this so fun. elias and tyler connect as tyler shows elias how things are in the twenty-first century. it's like splash but with cute boys and videos and a pocket watch that lets you time travel instead of mermaids. 

i loved splash so i'm serious when i'm saying i loved the time traveler's guide to modern romance. elias and tyler are two great characters and one of the best things about their relationship is how knowing each other and learning about one another makes each of them realize things about themselves. and they grow and become better humans. 

and i love how the story solves for the different time-period paradox. it's a solution that just works beautifully for a problem that at first seems very complex. 

**the time traveler's guide to modern romance will publish on march 4, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (entangled teen) in exchange for my honest review. 

Thursday, February 28, 2019

seriously romantic: american dreamer by adriana herrera

there is so much i love about american dreamer. 1) it's got some serious latinx cred. the author is of dominican descent and so is the main character, but all the islands of the greater antilles are represented. haiti, cuba, and puerto rico, with a hint of jamaica. listen, it's all good. 2) there's lots of food. food i grew up with. food that represents my culture and had my stomach growling. 3) it also takes place in the southern tier. (the southern what? you ask. yeah i live and work in the southern tier of new york. the tompkins county public library is a weekly stop for my family as that is where we take some community spanish lessons. there's something just fun about reading a book set in a place where you live.)

i also just love nesto and jude. their story is so sweet. i love how their relationship builds and while yes it starts out from a place of intense attraction, they also develop this really beautiful friendship and it makes everything so meaningful and deep. 

my only nitpick was about the spanish in the arc, and whoever put those accents in, it was so wrong. like so wrong. and okay, that's a copyediting issue i really hope is fixed in the final copy, but it really drove me crazy. spanish is my second language, but i'm fully fluent and bilingual. and writing was one of those pieces that came last, so i remember the rules really well. and i work really hard to maintain my fluency, especially living among gringos and in a world where autocorrect means you don't have to think so hard about what you are writing. so those misplaced or missing accents did really mess with me because it literally changes how you would say the word and its meaning at times. 

but besides that, there's so much to love about this book.

**american dreamer will publish on march 4, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/carina press in exchange for my honest review. 

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

somewhat scientific: frost by isabelle adler

an ice age has settled over earth and the people who have survived it must scavenge for everything. food, shelter, medicine...nothing is certain in frost. when spencer saves finn from a life-threatening situation, they form a friendship that is forged in hardship.

there are hints of attraction, but finn is afraid to explore things further, especially since he needs to get back to his ailing sister. if anything happens to her while he was off enjoying himself, he wouldn't be able to live with the guilt. never mind that the human connection, the burgeoning companionship is exactly what he needs.

but life is too fragile, too unpredictable to waste time. as the novella ends there may or may not be hope for the world after an environmental collapse, but at the very least you know that if you find love and happiness you might as well hold on to it.

**frost will publish on march 4, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgally/ninestar press in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, February 25, 2019

seriously romantic: on thin ice by julie cross

the juniper falls series is just so good. seemingly about hockey and teenagers, each book has tackled some serious issues in deep and thoughtful ways. jake and brooke are dealing with some heavy stuff in on thin ice.

and what makes jake such an interesting hero is the stuff that makes him tarnished. on the surface, he appears to be the all-american boy who has it all. but he's not perfect. he makes mistakes. costly mistakes that are a result of peer pressure and stupidity. but then he tries to turn it all around. he works hard to ensure that the mistakes that were made stop repeating themselves. and because of this, he comes out on top. and it's wonderful.

and brooke who is damaged and trying to find herself, in jake she finds someone who understands. someone willing to listen. someone who cares about her.

i can't gush about this book enough. it's just so good. i love these characters so much.

**on thin ice will publish on february 26, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (entangled teen) in exchange for my honest review.

Sunday, February 24, 2019

seriously romantic: believe in me by ella quinn

lady augusta vivers is brilliant and ahead of her time in so many ways. all she wants is to attend university and complete her studies. all her mother wants is to marry her off. forced to agree to a london season, augusta plots with her siblings a way to appease her mother while still getting what she wants.

when she is introduced to lord phineas carter-wood, she meets a kindred spirit. he too is tasked with looking for marriage and children, while trying to plan an escape to europe. meeting augusta however, he sees that their interests are aligned and that marriage between them could be a success.

but augusta has convinced herself that marriage would be a hindrance to what she wants to achieve. she doesn't believe that a man would allow her to go after what she wants. mostly she completely underestimates phineas and what he would do for her. she keeps thinking he doesn't love her, but it's pretty clear that he's head over heels from the get-go, it's just that it takes him a while to realize what that is.

believe in me is another delightful worthington story. lady augusta really does meet her perfect match.

**believe in me will publish on february 26, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/kensington books in exchange for my honest review. 

Saturday, February 23, 2019

seriously romantic: my favorite cowboy by donna grant

the heart of texas series possibly concludes with caleb harper's story—though i wouldn't be surprised if jace and cooper didn't get spin-off stories of their own—so don't quote me on the concluding thing. my favorite cowboy finds commitment-phobic caleb entangled with equally commitment-phobic audrey martínez.

thrust together when horses suddenly turn up sick, it quickly becomes clear that they are being poisoned and that audrey is the real target. as the premier equine vet in the area, it seems as if someone is out to destroy her reputation and her livelihood.

caleb's protective instincts go on overdrive, and soon he finds himself breaking all kinds of rules in order to get close to the horse doctor.

when caleb's past comes calling in the form of his deadbeat mother and audrey's insecurities about committing to anyone rise to the surface they both find themselves facing their pasts. but the promise of real happiness has them slaying those demons in perfect romance book fashion.

**my favorite cowboy will publish on february 26, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/st. martin's press in exchange for my honest review.