Friday, March 16, 2018

seriously romantic: merger to marriage by addison fox

merger to marriage is a pretty traditional category romance. the leads, mayson and holt, meet-cute in the hotel lobby of a wedding reception they are both attending. but their crazy sexual chemistry has them ditching the wedding and heading upstairs for one night of passion.

two months later their paths cross at a weekend getaway with friends and family. mayson is tired and nauseated and hungry and emotional, which if you read romance novels means that she is pregnant. she tells holt who reacts poorly but then rallies. he starts pushing for marriage and mayson is not convinced that's a good idea. her parents were not a good match and she doesn't want to subject her kids to living with parents in an unhappy marriage.

they talk about business arrangements and talk about passion, but they both forget to talk about love even though it's pretty obvious that they are both in it long before they are willing to accept it. there's some extra drama around their backgrounds but it doesn't really take away from the main story. all in all an enjoyable quick read.

**merger to marriage published on may 13, 2013. i received a digital copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing in exchange for my honest review.

Thursday, March 15, 2018

seriously romantic: sinner by sierra simone

sierra simone goes back to the world of priest in sinner. the bell family still grapples with their faith. and now their matriach is dying of cancer. sean, older brother of the former father bell, has taken on most of the caretaking. but he's still trying t hold true to his hedonistic lifestyle.

when he meets a mysterious woman named mary he's intrigued and only the fact that he's called away to his mother's bedside tears him away from an almost kiss. what he doesn't realize until later is that mary is actually his closest friend, elijah's much younger sister, zenobia "zenny" iverson. and zenny is well on her way to entering the novitiate.

sinner explores the lines between faith and the forbidden. the levels of angst for sean are many. he feels like he is corrupting an innocent. and he struggles with the amount of life he has on innocent zenny. but she is also wise beyond her years. her faith at once gives her a naïveté and a maturity to handle adversity.

i loved priest and midnight mass, while i enjoyed sinner. the struggle between faith and love is zenny's, but this book is told from sean's perspective, which while compelling doesn't have the same level of angsty forbidden love as the first books in this series. but it's still crazy hot and emotional. this series is so good.

**sinner will publish on march 15, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of sierra simone in exchange for my honest review.

somthing from the archives: whispers in the dark - part 3

this is a short fic, everything comes to a head here, and then next week we get the epilogue.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

simply all about wait with me - a cover reveal

if you don't follow amy daws on instagram then you are missing out. her tires, tires, tires, series of posts is amazing. it's hilarious and sweet and it spawned a whole new series from her!

Wait With Me by Amy Daws releases April 5!

When romance novelist, Kate Smith, finds her long-lost writing mojo in the customer waiting area of a tire store, the complimentary coffee isn’t the only things that’s hot. But sexy mechanic, Miles Hudson, is just up for a friendly test-drive of her new book idea.

At least, that was the agreement.

Add to your TBR

i'm so excited to share this cover with you. click for a sneak peek...

slightly silly: riverdale, episode twenty-seven: the hills have eyes

i'm 99% sure i've watched the 1977 horror movie that gives this episode it's title. riverdale continues to balance its high school drama with noir aesthetics and southern gothic atmosphere. it's what makes this show both wonderful and terrible. since sometimes i think we lose plot and character development to the atmosphere and overall look of the show.

after the bombshell revelation that the big boss in charge of lodge was hermoine, nothing more is said of the matter. and hiram is all businessy and head of the family and decides that archie should take veronica and betty and jughead away for the weekend.

which, for someone who seemed super duper conservative and, like, has these latino catholic sensibilities, hiram sending his young teenage daughter off for the weekend with her boyfriend just feels completely out of character.

anyway, when cheryl is excluded from this weekend away, she retaliates by outing the betty and archie kiss to jughead. this doesn't really upset him? and then veronica and jughead kiss to even things out and it's all good? i don't know you guys, they were drinking jalapeño margaritas so clearly they were impaired. they were all also having crazy amounts of sex.

meanwhile, kevin is having a horrible, no good, very bad day, but at least he's not going to australia? he does try to invite his former hook up who is currently dating a girl to love, simon, a movie directed by greg berlanti, who happens to be riverdale's showrunner. it's possibly the most unapologetic and obvious product placement trick ever, but you end up rolling with it because why not. anyway, kevin is told by josie that their parents are having an affair. and then they share a box of mints at the movie. cheryl and toni also meet at the movies, but it's not on purpose. when they go out for milkshakes later it seems like maybe there is something there.

and whatever it is, i'm all for it.

i'm glad riverdale is back, but this episode felt like a placeholder. and part of me wonders if it aired out of order, except that it didn't given the stuff with creepy chic (i didn't even get into this, you guys, he's sooooo creepy.) and like the continuity of all the lodge business stuff.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

seriously romantic: thirsty by mia hopkins

vanessa wasn't always a good girl, but she learned her lesson young. so when her grandmother brings salvador rosas into their home as thirsty opens, she's less than pleased. sal is a former gang member, ex-con who is trying to make a new life for himself after five years in prison. sal isn't a good guy. but he's not a bad guy either. he's done bad things. made poor choices. even though some might say he never had a choice at all.

making a new life for yourself in the old neighborhood isn't easy. the people who you left behind want to bring you down to their level, even as you try to rise above. vanessa has been rising above for years, but now that she's got sal in her home, in her life, the temptation is there. sal doesn't have the practice of resisting. he's known deprivation. he knows what it is to have no control. being on the outside, not having a routine, it's terrifying. how is it possible that he'll stand strong?

he's been aware of vanessa for a long time. for a long time, he wondered why she picked someone else, someone who was no better than he was when she could have had anyone. she was so good. and he was so bad. but they are so good together. the chemistry between them. their shared history. i loved the slow burn of this romance until it ignites. and then it's all fire. i love these characters and loved all the touches of latino culture.

part of me prefers the successful latino stories. the stories of middle and upper-class latinos, partly because part of me feels the stereotypes in play in the latinos from the wrong side of the tracks, the ones in gangs, all west side storied. but these stereotypes chafe because they don't reflect me as a latina. that isn't to say it's not authentic. and so at the end of the day, i just have to celebrate that these characters are latino. and that culturally things are represented authentically, even if it isn't a mirror to my experience as a latina, it is still a reflection.

**thirsty will publish on march 13, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/random house publishing group (loveswept) in exchange for my honest review. 

seriously romantic: fully dressed by geri krotow

on paper this book has it all. the perfect location. the city girl meets southern boy/opposites attract conceit. and don't get me wrong, fully dressed is enjoyable. it's just that for most of the book i thought maybe i was missing something?

the book feels very much like the second book in a series. like we should already know the lead characters somewhat because we've gotten snippets of their stories in an earlier book. except fully dressed is the start of the series.

and then poppy and brandon also have family drama and business drama and relationship drama, and they each also have an alternate name, poppy is also amber and brandon is gus and at a certain point it's almost a bit too much. i don't know.

as a contemporary, opposites attract love story, fully dressed totally works. i really liked both poppy and brandon. but part of me also wonders if this book is really where this series was meant to start. and i also wonder at some of the editorial choices made during certain scenes in the book, because there were so many times poppy and brandon would be having a seemingly normal flirtatious conversation and then it would go off the rails spectacularly and i wasn't always sure why. like maybe i missed something? i also didn't love the business subplots for either of these characters, they already had enough going on, their financial woes didn't really interest me or make their story more compelling. they had enough family drama for that.

**fully dressed will publish on march 13, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/kensington books (lyrical caress) in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, March 12, 2018

simply all about echoes - a cover reveal

Let us know what you think of the cover for Echoes by Alice Reeds, which releases August 7, 2018!

This cover reveal is brought to you by Entangled Teen.

seriously romantic: the firstborn prince by virginia nelson

foster boyd (the firstborn prince) and his twin brother (the rogue prince) inherited a cosmetics empire and millions of dollars. they also inherited a life in the spotlight. now foster wants to manipulate the situation to ensure he has full control over the family business and he decides that help from image consultant natalie stolen is exactly what he needs.

except the moment he meets her it's like he forgets his plan. and i'd explain the plan but to be honest, i don't think anyone in the book ever fully got it either, because it's not very clear and never really followed through on. but that's not actually a knock on the story. the plan was stupid from the get-go and foster's brother is clearly aware of what is going on anyway, which makes the whole thing even dumber. i'm sorry i need to stop talking about this plan.

the plan isn't important. because from the moment foster meets natalie it's clear that all he wants is her. and even though she knows that she shouldn't want him. she does. and he has hang-ups and commitment issues aplenty and natalie is entirely aware of them, but then they also deal with it. and it's sweet.

and oh, if you pick this book up, and you read the homemade active charcoal mask scene without laughing so hard you are crying then there is something wrong with you. that whole scene makes the book. and even more when foster references it in an apology, it's how natalie knows he means it. and as a reader you know it too.

**the firstborn prince will publish on march 12, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (indulgence) in exchange for my honest review. keep reading for more information on the book...

Sunday, March 11, 2018

seriously romantic: scoring off the field by naima simone

when tennyson finally quits on dominic in scoring off the field everything changes. she just figured it was time to stop putting her life on hold pining for someone who would never see her the way she wanted him to. but for dominic it's earth-shattering. it's ground shifting beneath his feet, suddenly the whole world around him is different and he can't figure out what changed.

because suddenly he's seeing tennyson in ways he never did before. or ways that he managed to suppress before. and now she's dating and looking to move towns and leave him and his job behind. and it's all happening just when his contract is up for renewal and he needs to keep his head in the game. and the thing is, tenny has been dom's rock. she's his best friend. and he is hers.

and on the one hand, you understand the hesitation to cross that line. when something is so good already, how could it be better right? well once the sparks fly and they get all crazy and hot and in love, you see how it can be better.

it takes some time for these two to figure out their new reality though. their past bond is so deep and they are so uncertain of each other in this new light. but once they let go and figure out that they can really trust each other with their hearts. it all works out.

**scoring off the field will publish on march 12, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (brazen) in exchange for my honest review.

Saturday, March 10, 2018

seriously romantic: the firefighter's perfect plan by sonya weiss

so in the interest of full disclosure, i must acknowledge that i'm sonya's literary agent. however, i had nothing to do with getting this book published, that was all her and entangled. and i'm just lucky i got a chance to read an early copy.

it's pretty well-established on this blog that fake relationships are like romance novel catnip for me, and the firefighter's perfect plan is the perfect blend of fake and real relationship that made this even better. josie moore has a terrible relationship with her parents, mainly because they are pretty terrible people. she's been a de facto bradford since she was a child. and in love with lincoln, her best friend casey's older brother since about the same time she became a de facto bradford.

linc is the kind of guy who instinctively wants to save you. when josie admits that she needs him to pretend to be her boyfriend because she lied to her mother about it, he agrees. he knows how terrible her mother is. nevermind that he'd been trying to stay away from josie because every time he looked at her he was tempted to throw away his perfect plan to stay single. a bad breakup had convinced him that he was a bad bet in the partner department. and hero that he is, he's decided to save every woman, but especially josie, from ending up stuck with him.

luckily linc's crazy baggage can't hold up to his family's incessant meddling. josie isn't much better because after a lifetime of being belittled by the people who birthed her, it's not surprising that she hesitates to believe that someone will pick her above anything. their love story is sweet and meaningful, beyond the attraction that blossoms between them, there is also this deep and abiding friendship. and it makes it all the better when they can admit what they truly feel for one another.

**the firefighter's perfect plan will publish on march 12, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (bliss) in exchange for my honest review.