Friday, July 5, 2019

seriously romantic: another dance by l.a. ashton

another dance finds kaito watanabe meeting figure skating superstar cristian alvarez for an interview,
and learning that the guy he's lusted after forever might actually be into him. and it's sweet and low angst, other than you know, characters feeling insecure about how the other person really feels and whether or not they deserve it.

but there's nothing dark or dramatic here. they meet and connect and share this really intense moment and then struggle to figure out what it means. but it's not that complicated because it's really just that they're both super into each other and what's not to like about that?

**another dance will publish on july 8, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/ninestar press in exchange for my honest review. 

Thursday, July 4, 2019

seriously romantic: betraying the billionaire by victoria davies

if you start to describe a romance novel with "there's these identical twins..." you know that sentence ends with "...and they switch places." but even though that is a tried and true trope, betraying the billionaire is still totally enjoyable.

holly takes her sister lillian's place, and tumbles head over heels in love with the man lillian is trying to avoid marrying. julian is a billionaire who is interested in the abbott family connections and sees an opportunity to expand his business empire by aligning himself with the "right kind" of people. julian is a self-made man, a foster kid who has done well for himself. and when holly gets a glimpse of the man beyond the ruthless ceo she can't help but be charmed.

julian knows there's something special about the woman in his arms. even as certain things don't add up, the depth of feelings he has for this woman are enough for him to throw all caution to the wind. but the lies cut deep, and both holly and julian run the risk of losing everything if they can't find a way through the mess.

**betraying the billionaire will publish on july 8, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (indulgence) in exchange for my honest review. 

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

seriously romantic: black sheep by meghan march

officially out in audio today, black sheep is meghan march's latest, and happens to be an audible original available in the audible escape package. narrated by perrenial faves sebastian york and andi arndt. it's queued up on my audio player for a listen, but i totally cheated because i got to read the ebook first. and you guys.

black sheep is cannon freeman's story. the disgraced bastard son of mafia leader dominic casso, cannon has a lot to answer for. and drew carson is looking for answers, and she doesn't care how they implicate cannon. that is, she doesn't care until she meets him.

there are so many lies and layers upon layers of intrigue. dominic is a master of playing games and cannon has been caught up in them for too long. but there is still hope for him.

march is amazing at creating alpha heroes who would do anything for the women they love. cannon is another wonderful example of this. and drew stands on her own. she is no shrinking violet and has her own agenda and game she's playing. march takes us on another wild ride, but i have to say there's no way i'd try and jump off. every twist, every turn, every new revelation is just categorically fun and pure, unadulterated enjoyment.

**black sheep will release on audio on july 2, 2019 and in e-book on august 27, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of meghan march in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, July 1, 2019

seriously romantic: payback by amy days (audiobook version narrated by aaron shedlock, erin mallon, will watt and charlotte cole)

amy daws has the best audiobooks, especially the harris brothers series audiobooks. told in a multicast style, where the male narrators read the male voices and the female narrators read the female voices and it's just the best. and in payback the awesomeness is doubled.

i previously reviewed the story. but hearing it brought to life by these talented narrators is the best. you connect with the characters in a different way, and it's so easy to fall in love with roan dewalt all over again.

every time i have the opportunity to listen to an amy daws book, i take it. because it's just ear candy. i laugh out loud and get emotional, and the narrators just do a splendid job of harnessing the funny and leaning into the weighty moments in just the right way. even if you've already read payback the audio is totally worth the listen.

**payback released on audio on june 24, 2019. i received a digital listening copy courtesy of amy daws in exchange for my honest review. 

Friday, June 28, 2019

seriously romantic: make me need by katee robert

the latest harlequin dare from katee robert, make me need, finds trish livingstone starting life in the city with a job her brother got her in an apartment her brother helps her pay for and she kind of feels like a loser. her first day of work she meets her brother's surly business partner cameron and she's smitten while aware that there is no way she should go there.

cameron is her brother's best friend. and he's an insensitive jerk. or at least that's what he appears to be. he's probably borderline on the spectrum, super smart with no ability to read social cues. but the livingstone siblings figure out how to read him. cameron realizes early on that he's in trouble with trish. that she's someone he should stay away from but can't. and that once he makes the choice to be with her, he is all in. and trish kind of has to play catch up.

this is an enjoyable, quick read. sexy and with just the right of emotional depth to let you really fall for the characters. as an aside, how many headless abs photos does the dare line have in stock? because i feel like every release looks a little bit like this. and it's fine, i get it, it's totally their category brand. but i guess sometimes i like to see things be a little more visually interesting.

**make me need will publish on july 1, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/harlequin (dare) in exchange for my honest review. 

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

seriously romantic: rogue most wanted janna macgregor

the cavensham series continues with rogue most wanted, and will cavensham, the eternally jilted is up to find his true love. he meets theodora worth, the current countess of eanruig, who's title is under question as her third cousin, the duke of ferr-colby is out to subsume it under his titles by claiming the charter was mistaken in allowing female heirs. to succeed in the suit, will's great aunt stella, thea's neighbor, suggests that she marry. and offers will up as her perfect match.

neither will or thea is interested in marriage, but the more time they spend together the more they regret their initial anti-marriage position.

the thing is, there is so much meddling here, the cavenshams are full of opinions. and while that kind of family closeness can be charming, it's literally my worst nightmare and every time i read books with this kind of nosy, opinionated family stuff i want to murder someone on the main character's behalf. will has plenty of people i'd be willing to eliminate for him. in part because i think, especially in this story, that the meddling made things more difficult so it was even less enjoyable than usual.

when will and thea finally get things right, it's very sweet and satisfying. i just wish i'd been saved the interfering relations.

**rogue most wanted will publish on june 25, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/st. martin's press in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, June 24, 2019

seriously romantic: deadlock by cherrie lynn

when lindsay morris's twin sister goes missing in deadlock, at first she thinks it's just lena being lena. flighty and irresponsible. but a mysterious text finds lindsay reconnecting with a figure from their past, someone lena wronged and who lindsay always felt something for.

jace has plenty of reasons to hold a grudge, but when lena's disappearance appears to wrap into a larger mystery that jace is in the midst of investigating, lindsay finds herself in the middle. neither of them fully trusts the other, but the intense chemistry between them is too hard to ignore. and as the fallout of everything that is happening becomes clear, this is set to spin off to a larger mystery.

**deadlock will publish on june 25, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (amara) in exchange for an honest review. 

Friday, June 21, 2019

seriously romantic: devil's way out by nika dixon

when emmaline katz ends up in absolution, montana in devil's way out she has no idea that she's found her home. on the run from a monster who has kept her hostage since she was a teenager, she can't trust anyone with her truth because there's no telling who it puts in more danger.

marshall boyer doesn't expect to be enchanted by the disheveled young woman he pulls out of the river. but from the moment he meets her there is connection. he has the sense that he knows her, that there is something between them that feels unnameable in that moment.

as the danger surrounding emma comes to absolution, marshall learns more about what makes this woman special, and what makes her his dream come true. the suspense and emotional depth of the story lend it the right amount of weight to balance some of the more mystical elements.

**devil's way out will publish on june 24, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (amara) in exchange for my honest review. 

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

seriously romantic: for his pleasure by shelly bell

book 3 in the forbidden lovers series, for his pleasure, finds dreama agosto trying to reclaim her life after a violent attack. the first day on the job she meets cash turner, a recent parolee on her caseload. if only he wasn't the first person to spike awareness and desire in her. if only she weren't terrified of being touched by a man. if only that wasn't at odds with her submissive, masochistic nature.

cash recognizes that need for submission in dreama. he knows it's impossible to act on it. but when they run into each other at a sex club all bets are off. he knows that he's the perfect dominant to soothe dreama's broken soul and bring her to the perfect state of submission her body needs.

when dreama notices discrepancies in cash's file, they both start asking questions in order to figure out why cash was railroaded into a plea deal, and suddenly they find themselves in real danger. but figuring out whether it's dreama's past or cash's that's the root source of the problem is going to take some doing.

the blend of sex and suspense really works here, and this was just as enjoyable a story as the first two installments in the series.

**for his pleasure will publish on june 18, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever) in exchange for my honest review. 

Monday, June 17, 2019

seriously romantic: a story like ours by robin huber

so i read part 1, a love like yours, and this is supposed to function as a duet. and it does, a story like ours literally picks up where the first book left off. and lucy and sam continue their journey to happily ever after.

but i guess my question is, was it necessary for this to be told in two books? do we need to know what happened after they decided they'd be together and work things out? there is something to be said for having the opportunity to spend more time with characters you love. but i'm not sure i felt strongly enough about sam and lucy to feel like it was so necessary.

in the end, i felt like their story felt resolved in the first 30 pages of this book and all the rest of it was bonus content. it wasn't necessary for me to enjoy their romance, but others may have fallen in love with the couple to want to know all the details.

**a story like ours will publish on june 18, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever) in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, June 14, 2019

seriously romantic: parental guidance by avery flynn

i haven't read previous books by this author, and parental guidance kicks off a new series set in the same world as some of her other books, which had me wondering briefly if i was missing something. this story was fun and sexy, and just the perfect summer read.

caleb stuckey is embroiled in a pr nightmare, and his hockey team will suffer consequences if he doesn't step up to the plate with some crazy pr scheme concocted by his mother and the ice knights' pr department. he's going to let his mom pick out a girl for him to date via an app and then agree to interviews about the whole thing.

meanwhile, zara ambrose succumbs to her best friend's harassment and joins an online dating app in spite of her serious reservations. but she probably does need to date more, and maybe she'll find the one guy who can make her orgasm because so far she's been unlucky in that regard.

the interactions between these two on their dates makes the book just a treat to read.

**parental guidance will publish on june 17, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing in exchange for my honest review. 

Thursday, June 13, 2019

seriously romantic: dirty irish by magan vernon

the last book in the murphy brothers series finds rugby player sean on the hook for fulfilling his end of the bargain in the marriage requirement of his family's inheritance. one thing that has always been difficult for me in this series is rationalizing why the grandfather would have put a ridiculous codicil like this in his will, especially given that a family business was at stake.

the plot of dirty irish basically involved sean getting his brother's wife's friend, leah, on board with helping him organize his life and find him a wife. except from the get-go he's pretty clear that he wants to explore things with leah. and she doesn't want to for reasons.

i don't know. there were some really amazing moments here between these two characters, but then out of left field everyone would be acting like a crazy person or in ways that didn't seem to fit the previous scene. anyway, so there's things that happen and in the end it's one of those books where the hero kind of has to give up everything he wants in order to get the girl. and like even though things wrapped up satisfactorily i somehow felt supremely unsatisfied by how it all resolved. like the happily ever after between the leads was good, but their life circumstances didn't feel like they would have really worked. i guess i would have solved things a bit differently and while how the author did it isn't bad, i couldn't help feeling kind of let down by the ending.

**dirty irish will publish on june 17, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (embrace) in exchange for my honest review. 

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

seriously romantic: how to lose a fiancé by stephanie london

this series is just purely perfect category tropeness, how to lose a fiancé takes on the trying to sabotage an arranged marriage and oops finding out the guy is actually the hero of your dreams trope and does an incredible job of it. dion and sophia are a perfect match, even when they are doing their best to fight it.

it's old school harlequin at it's finest, but somehow still feels fresh and is light and frothy with just the right amount of emotional depth to make you feel fully invested in these characters.

**how to lose a fiancé will publish on june 17, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (indulgence) in exchange for my honest review. 

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

seriously romantic: 28 dates by stacey lynn

caitlin and jonas have a friends with benefits arrangement that has been working for over a year, that is, until jonas decides he wants something more. and caitlin, who has a healthy fear of serious relationships is unwilling to give it to him. and so jonas decides to try to move on with someone who is interested. and caitlin finds herself regretting her inability to tell jonas that she wants the same thing he does.

when caitlin's best friend convinces her to try his dating app for 28 dates, she soon realizes that meeting at neutral ground means hanging out at jonas's bar. she tries not to feel guilty about that, especially since she knows he's moving on. it's not his fault she can't forget him and everything they shared. but then she learns that he's dumped the girl he was seeing and she's getting a whole host of mixed signals.

when jonas learns that caitlin is on the app, he finagles his way onto it. soon he's chatting with caitlin via the app and in person, and she's totally confused by her feelings. with all the half-truths they've been telling each other and themselves, it is going to be interesting to see where they end up.

**28 dates will publish on june 11, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/random house publishing group (loveswept) in exchange for my honest review.