Thursday, April 19, 2018

something from the archives: another sunset - part 2

and the story continues...


Wednesday, April 18, 2018

slightly silly: riverdale, episode thirty: the noose tightens


well, we learn right away that cheryl's been sent away for some brainwashing. and then toni and veronica step up to save her after nana rose gives them a major clue about where she ended up. and then toni and cheryl kiss. and it's perfection.


meanwhile the student council battle has a ridiculous town hall debate with alice cooper moderating. 



also the whole chic situation blows up


and he finally moves out. and is it just me but are we really sure he's alice's kid? i'm not. but there are so many layers upon layers of lies on this show that it's hard to tell.

all i really know is that i want more f.p. 


oh and stuff happened with the lodges and archie becomes like a mafioso and recreates the red circle as the dark circle and blows up a car. i don't know this subplot is getting too stupid for words. and archie is not a convincing capo. 

strictly literary: hiding lies by julie cross


the eleanor ames series closes out with hiding lies, picking up several weeks after the events in chasing truth, miles and ellie are self-defense training and hoping to continue to avoid the bad guys. but when ellie's mother is sentenced to prison time, miles mia and the fbi giving her another chance to act as an informant to catch her dad, ellie finds herself on a school trip to new york ready to pull the biggest con of her life.

the problem is, everybody ellie knows is a double agent. even her con artist family can be described as double agents. so many different agendas and goals are enough to make anyone crazy. even miles isn't being completely honest when he does reappear.

there's too many twists and turns in the plot to give away, but what is so great about ellie ames as a character is how she has this great ability to read people and to make connections with them. it's so very endearing. and also i just love her and miles together.

**hiding lies published on april 17, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (entangled teen) in exchange for my honest review. keep reading for more information about the series...


Tuesday, April 17, 2018

seriously romantic: leading the witness by chantal fernando

when hunter brayze meets riley mcmahon in leading the witness, he's totally taken with her, but knows it won't go anywhere because she is married. as a family law expert who has handled many a divorce case, it's a line he won't cross. so he flirts, and he teases, but he knows it won't go anywhere. she is married.

when his friend calls in a favor to ask him to represent some guy who has heard that hunter is the best there is and he finds himself sitting across the table from riley. horrified because he is now in the unenviable position of representing riley's douchebag ex, he's also horrifically conflicted because now he knows. riley is available.

but first they need to get through this divorce.

riley didn't want to bother her lawyer friends/best clients at her pub for advice. she didn't want people to know about her divorce. and it blows up in her face spectacularly. now they can't help her out. in fact they need to actively work against her.

in spite of this hunter still finds ways to be with her. and when it's done. she can't stop herself from agreeing to explore the tension between them. being with hunter is a balm to her soul. he listens to her. he respects her. he takes care of her, but also lets her take care of herself. he builds her up when she hadn't realized how broken down she was.

there was maybe one too many subplots, but i enjoyed spending time with these characters so it's all good.

**leading the witness will publish on april 17, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/gallery, threshold, pocket books (gallery books) in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, April 16, 2018

simply all about without promises - a cover reveal


today i'm helping reveal the cover for without promises by indie author, delancey stewart. in this story a sexy, millionaire firefighter meets a risk-averse struggling med student, sounds like kismet to me. can't wait to grab this on on may 21, 2018.

keep reading for all the pretty...



Sunday, April 15, 2018

seriously romantic: his beauty by sofia tate

his beauty is another beauty and the beast retelling, which i've gone on the record as not being my favorite fairy tale, and well, this isn't the retelling that's going to change my mind. in some ways i feel like this version hews too closely to the disney movie in terms of the major characters, that it's even less nuanced than other retellings that stick to the darker beaumont narrative.

anyway, if you know the plot of beauty and the beast, you know the plot here. it's the characters that should make you want to stay. lily and grayson are perfectly fine, but i didn't really feel their connection, and i guess this is the heart of my struggle with this story.

**his beauty will publish on may 8, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever) in exchange for my honest review. 

Saturday, April 14, 2018

seriously romantic: before daylight by andie j. christopher

i had thought the one night on south beach series was over once all the hernandez siblings got their happy endings. but there's a cousin and plenty of meddling from tia lola to entertain us in before daylight, a welcome return to the south beach world. when laura delgado learns that she'd secretly married charlie laughlin she's horrified. not only is he a known misogynist and playboy, getting married interferes with her life plans. she's reaching the pinnacle of her dance career. she's still hungry for more. dancing with the new york city ballet is her dream.

but word getting out that she's married could nip that all in the bud. when she confronts charlie and learns that he has no idea what she's talking about she's not really mollified. and the thing about charlie is that he wants to get married. he actually wouldn't mind exploring marriage with laura.

laura is full of sharp edges and flip-flopping behavior. she thinks she needs to cut out all the love in her life outside of ballet. she doesn't give charlie or anyone else enough credit to know that they'd be happy to love her in spite of it.

and charlie is kind of a dreamboat throughout. like there wasn't one thing he did that i thought, oh dude, huge mistake. i'm half in love with him, so it's no surprise to anyone that laura is too.

**before daylight will publish on april 17, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/kensington books (lyrical press) in exchange for my honest review. 

Friday, April 13, 2018

seriously romantic: the rules of rebellion by amity hope

leo zimmerman has had a crush on kylie jenkins since forever. so when she decides to break free of her good girl shell and needs a friend to go along with it, he decides that he's the right man for the job. not that leo is a bad boy. the rules of rebellion are written by two good kids. 

he's actually more dreamy artist than rebel without a cause. but he is more tuned into what high schoolers do given that his parents offer little to no supervision. as leo and kylie spend more time together, attraction blooms. only when leo realizes exactly who kylie's family is and how they are all connected, he starts keeping a very big secret. 

he has his reasons. but it does also make a big thing a very big bad thing. because there are two things instead of just the one. but leo is so afraid to lose it all, because being with kylie is the culmination of every dream come true. 

but it's not unforgiveable. they have a way of coming back from things, because leo and kylie just fit together. 

**the rules of rebellion published on april 2, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (entangled teen) in exchange for my honest review. keep reading for more information about the book...