Tuesday, April 25, 2017

simply all about deadly silence - release day blitz



ABOUT THE BOOK
 
Title: DEADLY SILENCE
Author: Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers, #1
On Sale: April 25, 2017
Publisher: Forever
Mass Market: $7.99 USD
eBook: $5.99 USD

**NOW AVAILABLE IN MASS MARKET**

The first book in a breathtaking new romantic suspense series that will appeal to fans of New York Times bestsellers Maya Banks, Lisa Gardner, and Lisa Jackson.

Under siege. That's how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can't outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he's been trying to keep at arm's length is in danger...and he'll destroy anything and anyone to keep her safe.

Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. She's making risky moves at work by day and indulging in an affair with a darkly dangerous PI by night. There's a lot Ryker isn't telling her and the more she uncovers, the less she wants to know. But when all hell breaks loose, Ryker may be the only one to save her. If his past doesn't catch up to them first...

Full of twists and turns you won't see coming, Deadly Silence is New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti at her suspenseful best.

**THE PRINT EDITION CONTAINS EXTRA BONUS SCENES NOT AVAILABLE ANYWHERE ELSE!**

BUY THE BOOK HERE


Also available in-stores at Walmart!

THE BLOOD BROTHERS SERIES

DEADLY SILENCE, #1
LETHAL LIES, #2
TWISTED TRUTHS, #3


REVIEW

So I reviewed Deadly Silence when it first released on e-book back in October. Here are my some of my thoughts from the original review:

everything is going crazy. the serial killer case they've been working on shows no signs of breaking open, meanwhile more red-headed girls are turning up dead. a teenage hacker has somehow burrowed through all their security and is asking them to dig into someone from their shared past. and the woman ryker has become involved with, zara, is in danger—something that tugs at his protective instincts and the heart he has tried to keep from becoming attached to anything to protect not only himself, but everything in the world he could lose.

while this is suspenseful and the characters at different points find themselves in mortal danger, this isn't unnecessarily graphic [...] it's more than just a [thriller. there's romance here too.]

ryker and zara go through a lot and at the end the only thing that's tied up in a neat bow is their relationship. which totally works for me. i'm intrigued enough by everything else that i will be checking out the next novels in the series.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Rebecca Zanetti is the author of over twenty-five romantic suspense, dark paranormal, and contemporary romances, and her books have appeared multiple times on the New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon bestseller lists. She has received a Publisher's Weekly Starred Review for Wicked Edge, Romantic Times Reviewer Choice Nominations for Forgotten Sins and Sweet Revenge, and RT Top Picks for several of her novels.  She lives in the wilds of the Pacific Northwest with her own alpha hero, two kids, a couple of dogs, a crazy cat...and a huge extended family.  She believes strongly in luck, karma, and working her butt off...and she thinks one of the best things about being an author, unlike the lawyer she used to be, is that she can let the crazy out.


FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE


RAFFLECOPTER








seriously romantic: too hard to forget by tessa bailey

peggy clarkson has commitment issues. she's been engaged four times and not married once. there's this guy she can't seem to get out of her head. only he's not just some guy. he's elliott brooks. the very catholic, super hot, ridiculously talented football coach of her alma mater.

their story sounds like such a cliché. she was a cheerleader. he was grieving the loss of his wife. she caught his glances during practice. he couldn't stop thinking about her. she followed him to the locker rooms. they had the hottest sex of their lives. it was illicit. it was thrilling. he felt like such a sinner. she felt like his dirty little secret. he ruined her for all others. he was ruined without her.

they both have so much pain between them. she's only come back to alumni weekend because it's been three years and she keeps running away from decent guys. she knows it has everything to do with elliott. she needs closure. she hasn't been able to move on for three years and she just needs this to stop. she needs to feel whole again.

if only just being around elliott didn't feel so right. and so wrong. he's had her all turned around inside that she can't get off without feeling guilt and pain and unworthy. the thing is, elliott never meant for peggy to feel unworthy. the truth is all that guilt and pain and unworthiness is his, and his alone. and when he realizes how he's made her feel. well, it's more guilt and pain and unworthiness, but at least he thinks he can make it right.

for three years he's been dreading seeing her again. when he got the invitation to her first wedding, he assumed that she had moved on. seeing her again, realizing that there was so much fire and hurt and love and anguish still living and breathing between them. it's still almost too much for him to bear. he's got a football team to manage. he's got a daughter he's raising. he failed his first wife in so many ways, if he failed peggy like that he'd be devastated.

too hard to forget is so emotional and passionate and is my favorite kind of love story. i can't explain why i love angst so much in my romance. and this story, oh, it has just the perfect amount. elliott and peggy's love isn't easy. it's complicated and fragile and heart-stoppingly beautiful. with every story tessa bailey has told in this series, she's upped the ante on the emotional depth and anguish. these clarkson siblings are something special. i love that we get some updates on aaron and grace. and we see the bond between belmont and sage continue to grow and develop. they're up next in too beautiful to break and i can only imagine the emotional rollercoaster that story will be. i can't wait!

**too hard to forget will publish on april 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever) in exchange for my honest review. 

simply all about too hard to forget - release week blitz







ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: TOO HARD TO FORGET
Author: Tessa Bailey
Series: Romancing The Clarksons, #3
On Sale: April 25, 2017
Publisher: Forever
Mass Market: $7.99 USD
eBook: $5.99 USD

The third book in New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey's Romancing the Clarksons series about four siblings on a cross-country road trip, perfect for fans of Gena Showalter and Julie James!

This time, she's calling the shots.

Peggy Clarkson is returning to her alma mater with one goal in mind: confront Elliott Brooks, the man who ruined her for all others, and remind him of what he's been missing. Even after three years, seeing him again is like a punch in the gut, but Peggy's determined to stick to her plan. Maybe then, once she has the upper hand, she'll finally be able to move on.

In the years since Peggy left Cincinnati, Elliott has kept his focus on football. No distractions and no complications. But when Peggy walks back onto his practice field and into his life, he knows she could unravel everything in his carefully controlled world. Because the girl who was hard to forget is now a woman impossible to resist.

BUY THE BOOK HERE


EXCERPT

“I don’t know, Peggy.” He whirled on her, closing in until she was forced back onto the desk. “I had an All-American on my squad this morning and now I don’t. That’s all I know.” He pointed a finger toward the window. “I solve problems down on the field. Saving people isn’t my job.”

Saving people. God, there was such a wealth of regret and pain in those two words. But he couldn’t hear it and she couldn’t address it. Letting him know she saw right through his façade to the hurt beneath might force Elliott to close himself off. “You didn’t always limit yourself. Why are you doing it now?”

“Accepting things that can’t be changed isn’t a limitation. It’s realistic.”

“But how will you know if something can’t be changed unless you try?”

“When it comes to certain things, Peggy, trying leads to losing.” He was in her face now, the mint from his toothpaste familiar and inviting where it slid over her lips. “And I don’t lose.”

No one ever stood up this man but her, and she wouldn’t be cowed now. “No? You’re out a receiver.” She hitched herself up on his desk. “I’d call that a loss.”

The tips of his shoes met Peggy’s, his hands gripping the furniture on either side of her hips. “Who do you think you are, little girl? Coming into my office and telling me what I’ve done wrong?” His eyes were brilliant in their vexation, the attraction he was trying so hard to fight. “Where do you get the goddamn bravery?”

“The bravery is what you liked best about me,” she breathed, heat sizzling in a downward V toward her thighs. “Isn’t it?”

“No. That bravery is what almost led to my downfall.” His hands found her bottom, jerking her to the edge of the desk. “I resented it. Still do.”

“Liar,” Peggy whispered, easing her thighs wider. “You’re dying for an excuse to head for another downfall.” When her legs were as open as she could spread them, she leaned up to Elliott’s ear and let her breath shake loose. “One thrust.”

Elliott’s right hand came up out of nowhere, molding over Peggy’s mouth as his hips crowded into the notch of her legs. With a quick maneuver to recline her halfway back, Elliott’s erection found the apex of her thighs, delivering an aggressive pump against her underwear that sent a scream climbing up Peggy’s throat, only to be trapped by his hand. Knees jerking up out of reflex over the rush of sensation, an orgasm almost—almost—broke past the surface, sending her waters rippling out on all sides. Her legs wanted to hug Elliott’s waist, her voice wanted to beg for one more, one more, one more, but he shook his head, denying her, even though his gaze was hot, a low groan issuing from his harshly masculine mouth.

He leaned in and nipped the lobe of her ear. “Next time, ask for two.”


THE ROMANCING THE CLARKSONS SERIES
TOO HOT TO HANDLE, #1
TOO WILD TO TAME, #2
TOO HARD TO FORGET, #3
TOO BEAUTIFUL TO BREAK, #4




DREAM CAST

So I had signed up for a Dream Cast post, but then didn't originally get a Dream Cast from the author and I thought I misunderstood and that I was supposed to provide the Dream Cast. Since I already went through the trouble I'll leave my choices up. But first I'll let you all see Tessa's choices for her Dream Cast for Too Hard to Forget. One difference between our lists is that I made a cast list for the series, but Tessa's is for the lead characters of Too Hard to Forget.

Choosing the dream cast for this series was fun, I knew the look I wanted for each character, and figuring out which actor meant spending some quality time on Google Images. I also want to acknowledge that I did consider Tessa's choice for Elliott for my Dream Cast, and even though our final choices are different, I think what makes the exercise fun is that it lets you think about how you want the character to be seen. So in that respect, Tessa's choices are way more interesting to read about than mine are.

All that being said, here is Tessa:

For the record, this is SO HARD. For the Romancing the Clarksons series especially, I have a specific image in my mind for each character and none of them match an actor/actress perfectly. So I am going to take Elsa’s advice and Let it Go (let go of the images in my head, that is). Enough rambling! Here is my dream cast (the main characters, anyway) for Too Hard to Forget!

Coach Elliott Brooks: Jon Hamm. Now, I’m not talking about suave Don Draper. If Jon is going to pull off my hard-ass football coach, he’s going to need some scruff and a bad attitude. There was an episode of Mad Men where Jon went juuuuust the right amount of dominant and that’s what makes him my Elliott. 

Peggy Clarkson: Ashley Greene. This one is a little easier. I think Ashley Greene is incredibly beautiful and she could also pull off Peggy’s devil-may-care flirtatious presence, while still guarding secrets with her eyes. 

Kyler Tate: Christian McCaffrey. Okay, so he’s not an actor. He plays for the Broncos. But he has the perfect sexy charmer smile and a ton of charisma. I would pay for his acting classes myself!

Alice Brooks: Kiernan Shipka. Might as well stick with a Mad Men theme, right? She already played Don Draper’s daughter (Sally Draper) and can exude angst like nobody’s business, so she’s a great choice for Alice! 

I think those are all good choices. Mine for the series are below, with some pictures as a bonus!

Rita Clarkson: Minka Kelly. I struggled to cast Rita. She's vulnerable about her looks and sensuality in ways that I'm not sure Minka really is, but I couldn't find anyone else who really fit the bill for me.

Jasper Ellis: Armie Hammer. I came across Armie when I was researching tall actors. Armie is really tall. But he also kinds of fits Jasper to a T.

Aaron Clarkson: Matt Bomer. I pictured Aaron as someone totally clean cut and chiseled and put together. And honestly one look at Matt Bomer and I was like, yes, this is Aaron Clarkson to me.

Grace Pendelton: Britt Robertson. Britt has this eternally youthful appearance that seemed to fit with Grace's inherent innocence. I was looking for a young Cameron Diaz or Drew Barrymore type and Britt seems to straddle that line between the two of them.

Peggy Clarkson: Annasophia Robb. Annasophia has those large eyes that you could just drown yourself in. I feel like she captures Peggy's ability to enthrall people, but her beauty has that hint of fragility that makes Peggy so achingly vulnerable and gorgeous and strong all at the same time.

Elliott Brooks: David Boreanez. I mentioned that I considered Jon Hamm here, but I decided he was too pretty. Even when you see David in a suit he's still got the bit of edge and danger that I saw in Elliott. And in the picture below I could totally see him standing on the sidelines of a football game.

Belmont Clarkson: Chris Hemsworth. Chris has the right amount of size, unkemptness, and ability to play strong and silent that seems to embody Belmont to me.

Sage Alexander: Alicia Vikander. Alicia is a little taller than what I picture for Sage, but she has the right amount of strength and vulnerability that would counterpoint Belmont's perfectly.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Tessa Bailey is originally from Carlsbad, California. The day after high school graduation, she packed her yearbook, ripped jeans, and laptop, and drove cross-country to New York City in under four days. Her most valuable life experiences were learned thereafter while waitressing at K-Dees, a Manhattan pub owned by her uncle. Inside those four walls, she met her husband, best friend, and discovered the magic of classic rock, managing to put herself through Kingsborough Community College and the English program at Pace University at the same time. Several stunted attempts to enter the work force as a journalist followed, but romance writing continued to demand her attention.

She now lives in Long Island, New York with her husband and daughter. Although she is severely sleep-deprived, she is incredibly happy to be living her dream of writing about people falling in love. 


FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE


RAFFLECOPTER

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Monday, April 24, 2017

seriously romantic: love on tap by meg benjamin

when wyatt montgomery gets a lead on a rare barrel of a special craft brew, an imperial stout named zoria, he believes that it might be just the thing he needs to save the slumping receipts of his denver gastropub, the ridiculously-named quaff. the action in love on tap really kicks into gear when he gets to the little town of antero he tracks down bec dempsey, the brewmaster of the now defunct brewery that produced the zoria.

she has one keg left. and she's willing to sell, for the right price. it's not just money bec wants. she needs more ingredients. she still believes in her brewery, and she's embarrassed and ashamed of the fact that she left her friends and vendors holding the bag when the brewery folded.

though, really the truth is a bit more complicated than that. the brewery didn't fold because bec was careless or lacked business sense. it was her ex-business partner and ex-boyfriend who pulled the financial backing and skipped out of town when he was over the relationship. bec is wary of wyatt, who seems too good to be true. except he's actually not.

collecting the ingredients bec needs almost turns into rumplestiltskin's tasks. and yet with his charm and good-natured perseverance, he wins over the naysayers and slowly and surely, he wins bec over too. in fact he almost gets her believing in herself again. and how's that for feel-good romance.


bec and wyatt's story is heartwarming and charming. wyatt is a dreamy guy, patient and strong and tough as nails. he cracks through antero's tough small-town exterior to become one of their own. and how he does it is totally worth reading about.

**love on tap will publish on april 24, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (select contemporary) in exchange for my honest review.

Sunday, April 23, 2017

seriously romantic: the seduction of viscount vice by nicola davidson

the third installment of the racy regency fallen series, the seduction of viscount vice, turns its lens on the third co-owner of london's most wicked and most celebrated, house of sinful pleasures. it all starts when iain vissen discovers mairi macnair has infiltrated his staff, he is beyond stunned. he'd been told she was dead. he'd loved her. she broke his heart.

mairi is equally horrified to have come face-to-face with a man she had used pretty callously. she knew he loved her, but she was about to be forced into an engagement that she couldn't tolerate, and so she staged a scene that would result in her banishment from polite society. making love with iain on that wild scottish moor had been eye-opening. she'd learned what she desired most of all was to have sex while on display. a kind of exhibitionism that was frowned upon by society in general.

and she's not really had a chance to enjoy her desires freely. since escaping to the continent she's been serving as an unpaid maid and seamstress to yvette, the spoiled and lazy frenchwoman who is planning to open a club to rival fallen. and who has promised mairi a starring role in their opening production.

for some reason, mairi is too grateful and too blind to see how this woman is taking advantage of her and clearly has no plans to allow mairi to be anything but a seamstress. this is somewhat frustrating because mairi is strong and independent and capable pretty much in every other aspect of her life. she is a worthy adversary to iain. she keeps him on his toes. and the chemistry between them is explosive. and when they realize that they actually share the same kink? well, it's kind of unstoppable.

the plot here gets short shrift because of the short format, everything seems to spiral out and then back into submission rather quickly. but it's kind of nice because in the end, the kinky owners of fallen all find their perfect matches, and london society as always enjoys the scandal.

**the seduction of viscount vice will publish on may 1, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (scorched) in exchange for my honest review.

Saturday, April 22, 2017

seriously romantic: lost rider by harper sloan

in lost rider, the first book in the coming home series, maverick davis has lost his sense of purpose. ten years ago he left everything behind to pursue his dream of bull-riding. he left behind his siblings. he left behind the girl he loved—not that she was aware of the fact. because in order to really leave, he behaved despicably, unforgivably. he couldn't risk anything keeping him close to his abusive, drunk, poor excuse for a father.

except now that bull-riding is no longer a viable career, now that his father is dead and buried, and now that his siblings need him more than ever, he's come home. and what he did ten years ago still flays at him. especially now that his dream is gone. so he gave up love for nothing. he hurt leighton james for nothing.

and he did hurt her. she's survived and grown stronger and tries so hard to hold on to her anger. she wants to hate maverick so much. and when he first returns he does his best to help her continue hating him. but so much anger and pain and emotion and longing and love can't stay hidden. and soon enough they realize that it is useless to fight their connection.

if ten years of hurt and pain and loneliness didn't kill it. nothing will. and now they just need to figure out who they are together. because not being honest with themselves or each other is what has them so twisted up in knots. and maverick has plenty of amends to make. for a while there is such a disconnect between what is going on in his head and what his mouth is actually saying that it's hard to know how to feel about him. he does redeem himself. once he stops getting in his own way, things move forward. really, most conflicts in life can be resolved if only we stopped being our own biggest obstacle.

**lost rider will publish on april 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/gallery, threshold, pocket books (pocket books) in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, April 21, 2017

strictly literary: the whole thing together by ann brashares

at its heart, the whole thing together is about family. it's about the family you are born into and the one you chose to build. it is about siblings who love each other and appreciate even if they don't understand each other's differences. it is about how our families and our place in it shapes who we are and how we relate to the world.

the thomas-riggs family tree is complicated in that twenty-first century kind of way. lila and robert were married. they had three daughters: emma, quinn and mattie. then they divorced. it was very acrimonious. when they remarried, lila to adam and robert to evie, they each had a child. lila and adam had ray. and robert and evie had sasha.

as part of their divorce settlement, they shared custody of a beach house, alternating weeks throughout the year. and sasha and ray sharing a bedroom. without ever meeting. they've come close but managed to avoid any actual connection. except this summer, their ever-industrious sister emma, finagles them a shared job. and for the first time, they must communicate directly.

in seventeen years they had plenty of time to come up with an idea of each other. in some ways they shared their most intimate secrets with one another. but there was always the mystery the other half of the family, they never quite got the whole picture because their halves were whole. it's their sisters' family that fractured.

this summer is different not only because sasha and ray suddenly open communication. emma is secretly seeing a man that she loves and adores and whom she is determined to marry, but first, she has to figure out how to introduce him to her crazy, splintered family. and quinn is floating, as she does. she gardens and observes and is there for her siblings with unconditional love. and they really do need it. and then there is mattie, who is learning that maybe asking questions leads to unexpected and unwanted answers, who comes to realize that what she always believed about her identity may not be reality, and who is stuck questioning her place in this already complicated family.

it's not an easy summer. when things come to a head and everything falls apart, it's hard to see how they can come back from that. everything is so broken. but love, when given freely and unconditionally, the kind of love you have for your siblings and parents and those you chose to call family, is all-encompassing and healing. and maybe when everything is put together again, things don't look exactly the same, but maybe it's better.

i loved the last summer (of you & me) and i think people who loved that book, in particular, will love this one. this is different in tone from the sisterhood series, even though that series also tackled some pretty tough subjects. in some ways, this novel feels more adult. but that's okay. it's really just a beautiful story.

**the whole thing together will publish on april 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/random house children's (delacorte press) in exchange for my honest review.