Monday, May 22, 2017

seriously romantic: when a lady dares by tara kingston

the her majesty's most secret service series continues with when a lady dares picking up some time after the secret agency established in when a lady deceives comes into being. sophie atherton has become more than jennie's assistant, she's become a field agent all on her own. while undercover investigating a series of deaths linked to a spiritualist by the name of trask she encounters gavin stanwyck. she knows he's a sceptic, he's a man of science and there is simply no way he is honestly seeking to speak with his dead father as he claims. 

afraid that he's aiming to debunk trask entirely, sophie acts as an obstacle, so to speak. she needs gavin out of the way in order to complete her own investigation without coming under suspicion. what she doesn't realize until later is that she and gavin are both investigating the same suspicious deaths. 

at first gavin suspects that sophie is a party to the murders, but the more time he spends with her he realizes that she is in danger. trask may not be an honest man, but the people he's involved with are worse. and as they start to sense that they have more than one person on their tail, things start to get extra murderous.

thrown together, the simmering attraction between sophie and gavin basically explodes. the whole story they've been dancing around each other, playing mind games, fighting to gain the upper hand. they are perfectly matched in a battle of wits and they both want a life filled with adventure. they just have to figure out how they might take that adventure together. because the truth is, they are better together than apart. 

**when a lady dares will publish on may 22, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (select historical) in exchange for my honest review.

Sunday, May 21, 2017

superbly suspenseful: the darkest corner by liliana hart

the darkest corner introduces us to the gravediggers, a top secret organization of rogue agents whose deaths have been faked in order to allow them to fight international terrorism under the radar. as the first recruit of the gravediggers stationed in last stop, texas, he's the de facto team leader. under the cover of working at a funeral home, he's been surrounded by death for too long since he was himself brought back from the dead.

but there's one person who makes him feel alive again. one person he'd consider risking it all for. he knows he's on borrowed time. either the directors will order him killed by the end of his term of service to the gravediggers or he'll die on the field of duty. either way, he's spent too long denying himself anything real. and when tess sherman accidentally discovers their newest recruit, it is only a matter of time before he will have to actually start answering her questions with the truth.

and he wants to tell her the truth. he thinks she deserves it. and when he is given the official go-ahead to bring her in, he does so mostly for him. the fact that she speaks the dialect of russian necessary to overturn the latest threat to world peace is incidental in his book. when his supervisor gives him leave to seduce her, he doesn't prostitute himself out for the job. he takes it as permission to move forward with something he's always wanted.

the connection between tess and deacon is strong from the get-go. and as they finally share their truest selves with one another and become more entrenched in each other's lives what's at stake becomes a lot more personal. for the first time deacon has something, someone to live for. and tess, who's been abandoned and cast aside more than once in her life, realizes that she's finally given her heart to someone who might leave in spite of how much he loves her. and the question becomes more about is the risk of heartache worst if they are together or if they are apart?

the shadow organization this series sets up is pretty incredible, and i can't wait to see how each other the gravediggers' stories evolves. i'm already looking forward to reading gone to dust, book 2 in the series.

**the darkest corner will publish on may 23, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/gallery, threshold, pocket books in exchange for my honest review.

simply all about the darkest corner - a release week blitz


ABOUT THE BOOK
Title: THE DARKEST CORNER
Series: The Gravediggers, Book One
Author: Liliana Hart
Imprint: Pocket Books
Publication Date: May 23, 2017
ISBN: 9781501150036
Price: $7.99 Paperback

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Liliana Hart’s first book in her sexy, suspenseful Gravediggers series, The Darkest Corner, features an elite group of mysterious men who might be dead to the world, but are also tasked with saving it—and no one can ever know.

The Gravediggers aren’t exactly what they seem. They’re the most elite of the world’s fighting forces—and all they have in common is that they’ve been betrayed by the countries they’ve died for. Because they are dead. To their country, their military, and their families.

Sometimes the dead do rise…

Deacon Tucker is a dead man walking. A former black ops agent, he was disavowed and stripped of all honor before being recruited as a Gravedigger. But his honor and good name no longer matter, because no one knows he’s alive, and he’ll never get the recognition he deserves. His mission is simple: save the world or die trying. And for God’s sake, don’t ever fall in love. That’s a rule punishable by death. The kind of death a man can’t be brought back from.

Tess Sherman is the only mortician in Last Stop, Texas. She has no idea how Deacon Tucker ended up in her funeral home, but she’ll eat her hat if he’s only a funeral home assistant. Deacon is dangerous, deadly, and drop-dead gorgeous. And she knows her attraction to him can only end in heartache.

Deacon is on a mission to stop the most deadly terror attack the world has ever known—what’s known as The Day of Destiny—a terrorist’s perfect day. But when he discovers Tess has skills he can use to stop them, he has to decide if he can trust her with secrets worth dying for. And most important, he has to decide if he can trust her with his heart.

BUY THE BOOK


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Liliana Hart is a New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling author of more than forty titles, including the Addison Holmes Whiskey and J.J. Graves Mystery series. Since self-publishing in June 2011, Liliana has sold more than four million ebooks. She’s hit the #1 spot on lists all over the world, and all three of her series have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list. Liliana is a sought-after speaker who’s given keynote speeches and self-publishing workshops to standing-room-only crowds from California to New York to London.


Look for Gone to Dust (Book 2) June 20th!




Saturday, May 20, 2017

seriously romantic: without words by delancey stewart

when dani hodge first approaches roberto derosa in without words, she's convinced he's giving her the brush off. what she doesn't know is that roberto is recovering from a traumatic brain injury he suffered in the line of duty as a fireman. and one of the more difficult aspects of his new normal is that words don't come easily to him. other than his aphasia you wouldn't be able to tell he suffered any trauma, physically, he's as strong as ever.

but he's also depressed and moody. his injury ended his career in fire-fighting. now that he's able to get on with his life, what is he supposed to do with it? dani is a girl with dreams. and with the recent passing of her grandmother, she now has the means make her dreams a reality. she wants to open a bookshop/cafĂ©/wine bar. she has the perfect space for it. she just needs help renovating it.

when roberto comes upon her while she is attempting to complete a project, he realizes she needs help. and he knows something of construction and decides to help her. he'd only rebuffed her earlier because he didn't know what to say. but remodeling work will not require that much talking. and he has the time to help her.

the more dani understands roberto's situation the more impressed by him she is. she'd always found him incredibly attractive, but his strength and resilience makes him even sexier in her book. i mean, he is pretty dreamy. it's always so interesting to read books where the characters have difficulty communicating with the world around them, because as a reader you know their thoughts and feelings so intimately. most problems in romance novels are solved with a little effort at communication, so when communication is difficult for other reasons, it almost means more to see how the characters work things out.

**without words will publish on may 22, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (select contemporary) in exchange for my honest review. 

Friday, May 19, 2017

seriously romantic: the nanny arrangement by rachel harris

the latest book in the country blues series, the nanny arrangement, follows newest member deacon latrell and his best friend, hannah fisher.  since they first met, years ago when deacon was new in town and hannah summed up the courage to say hello to him in spite of her stutter, they've been connected at the hip. and while hannah values his friendship, she is also in love with him and always has been.

the problem is that deacon doesn't see her as a woman, or at least she thinks that is the problem. it's a little more complicated though. deacon sees her as a woman all right, he just believes that he has no business lusting after his best friend. his experience with love is that people leave. and he never wants hannah to not be a part of his life.

and he's thrilled when for his first tour with the band, he'll have hannah with him. she's agreed to join the tour as a nanny, watching his young son max, and the lead singer's daughter. they'll be sharing a tour bus, and at first deacon doesn't think anything of the forced proximity. but as the sexual tension rachets up between them, it's finally time for them to talk about things openly.

the truth is, they both want the same things. they want to spend a life with each other. they want to raise his son together. all deacon needs to do is believe that he is worthy of the love hannah has for him. all hannah has to do is tell him unequivocally that she loves him. this is a sweet, emotional story, and the character's rich history adds to the depth of feeling in their romance.

**the nanny arrangement will publish on may 22, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (bliss) in exchange for my honest review.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

something from the archives: say goodbye - part 20

see the links for parts 123456789101112131415161718, and 19. part 20 follows the break, and we've basically connected to the moment first described in the opening two chapters. so after chapter 21 we'll start seeing some forward progress. 

you guys, sometimes i rewrite these passages because i find them so cringeworthy, other times i fix the more egregious errors and live with the terrible writing because there's no real way for me to make it less terrible. i'm not that skilled. anyway, sometimes i'm embarrassed about my quest to preserve my fanfic, and other times i think, i spent time on this. even if it is ridiculous and silly, i want to keep it someplace accessible. this is not a bad thing. 

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

slightly silly: riverdale, episode 13: the sweet hereafter


i'm not sure i have words.

the season finale totally lived up to my expectations and more.



the love square became fully entrenched.



and, and, and there was so much kissing.





and the more you watch, the more opportunity for drama. it's the absolute best. 



this is what i watch teen soaps for. and riverdale has done an excellent job of being pure, soapy, ridiculous, stress-free entertainment. it took a while for these characters to come into their own, but at the end of the day, this was a wonderful freshman effort. i can only hope that the second season takes the wonderful characters and rich narrative history and runs with it. 

there is so much to look forward to. the resolution of that cliffhanger. the aura of romeo and juliet that surrounds betty and jughead's relationship. the arrival of papa lodge and what that might mean for archie and veronica. there's the promise of crossed stars that i like. i love my teen dramas soapy and full of angst, after all. 

somehow i feel like the writers will respond somewhat like this:



and now to live through the long, riverdale-less summer.